You can now delete WhatsApp messages an hour after you sent them

  • March 12, 2018 - 02:03:00 PM

The deletion feature of the instant messaging app WhatsApp has immensely changed throughout the years. Deleting a message was doable but not effective if the intention was for the recipient of the message (sent by error) not to see it. Later last year in October 2017 WhatsApp introduced the longtime-wanted feature  'delete for everyone' but allowed seven minutes time frame to delete messages after sending them. You can now delete WhatsApp messages an hour after you sent them and WABetaInfo was first to notice this and notify their Twitter followers about WhatsApp extending the time limit up to precisely one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds. Hard to answer the reason behind the specification of a set time for deletion though.

A new WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) is available on AppStore.
It is a bug fixes update, but it has the new “Delete for everyone” limit, that’s 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds.

— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) 8 March 2018

We tried checking the support pages of WhatsApp to understand more the new time increase and the reason for the time specifications, apart from the 4096 seconds, or 2^12, but in vain as they provide no further information on the time limit.

This is good news for people who send messages by mistake or get heated to reply to emotional messages but later on, they get caught between repent and pressed-send-by-mistake! One hour is more than enough to catch up with your message and wipe it off before any emotional damage is dealt with.

The message you delete successfully for everyone should replace it with "this message was deleted" in the recipient's chats.

Deleting messages for everyone is easy and straightforward:

1. After opening the app Whatsapp, go to the conversation or chat the contains the message you want to delete

2. Hold the message by tapping with your thumb. 

3. At the top of your screen, tap delete icon>>> Delete for everyone.

You and your recipient must use the latest version of WhatsApp to be able to successfully delete for everyone otherwise the feature won't work.

Despite the efforts of Whatsapp to keep launching the best and wanted features to its users yet their competitors - Telegram - are ahead in the game with the feature of "self-destruction message" where the user sets a countdown on messages on secret chat-mode and messages disappear from the device as soon as the time runs out.

For more geek techy content visit our Geek world category.